Arizona Public Media
AZPM on Facebook AZPM on Twitter AZPM on YouTube AZPM on Google+ AZPM on Instagram

Political Buzz entry


There's no shortage of decisions on this year's Tucson ballot. The open mayor's seat and three city council members are up for election. For the first time, the city elections will be conducted entirely by mail.

First off, there are three - yes, three - primaries in the race for the open mayor's seat. Marshall Home and Jonathan Rothschild will face off for the Democratic nomination. In the Green party, both Dave Croteau and Mary DeCamp are competing for the nomination. Republicans will choose between Ron Asta and Shaun McClusky. After the primary, independent candidate Pat Darcy will join the nominees from each party for the general election.

In the city council seats, each incumbent has a challenger:

West side ward one: Democrat Joe Flores is challenging incumbent Democrat Regina Romero

Northeast side ward two: incumbent Democrat Paul Cunningham faces Republican Jennifer Rawson

Southeast side ward four: incumbent Democrat Shirley Scott faces Republican Tyler Vogt

The city primary election is Aug. 30.

Add a Comment

Comments are closed x

To prevent spam, comments are no longer allowed after sixty days.

About Political Buzz

News, commentary, analysis from the AZPM political team: Christopher Conover, Andrea Kelly, Michael Chihak.

tags ,

Tucson election Politics